2016 Geotechnical Practitioner of the Year – Call for Nominations

Nomination criteria:
Practicing Geotechnical Engineer who has significantly contributed to the discipline through their involvement in one or more of the following areas:

  • Lead or involvement in projects of new slope stability modelling or stabilisation techniques
  • Advancement in the field of geotechnical engineering
  • Presenting at BOHOGS meetings
  • Attendance at BOHOGS meetings
  • Council member of BOHOGS, BBUGS, AGS, ACG, AUSIMM or other relevant society
  • Conference Papers or Presentations in 2015-2016
  • Organising committees for conferences
  • ACARP committee, ACARP monitor
  • University Lectures or Advisory Board
  • Thesis supervision
  • Relevant awards, scholarships of certificates
  • Mentoring of young geotechnical engineers

Nomination process:

  • Nominations to be sent to Chris Hanson chris.hanson (at) or Alison McQuillan alison.mcquillan (at)
  • Individuals may self nominate or nominate another person
  • Nominations to include:
    • Name, Company, Position, Contributions made and achievements attained in the field of open cut geotechnical engineering over the past 12-18 months
  • Nominations close Friday November 18, 2016

Award process:
The Practitioner of the Year award will be presented at the joint BBUGS/BOHOGS Suppliers Day on November 24, 2016